I’m in Korea!

I’ve tried to update this blog a few times (in the airport, during orientation, from my apartment) but for some reason I’ve been getting errors up until today. I plan on writing a longer, more in-depth post during lunch today, but I have a lot of nerves I need to get out, so I decided to type up something quick before I go to class. Orientation was a lot of fun, but it was also really exhausting. Between the classes, the drinking at convenience stores after class, and the lesson demo preparation, I never had trouble falling asleep at the end of the day. It took place at Konkuk Glocal Campus in Cheongju, for the record. There were so many hills there I think I lost like ten pounds that first week alone.

On the last day, predictably, we met our co-teachers. However, this was sooner than most EPIK bloggers, because this orientation was just 7 days instead of ten. I got ONE school… a MIDDLE school. My area is considered rural but actually, it’s a nice little town with plenty of businesses to provide me with entertainment and necessities. I also love my apartment. It’s not a one room (to my delight) and it’s got a pink accent wall which I thankfully love. It might be an issue if I didn’t like pink.

I don’t teach after school classes because I have so many classes during the day, I have no room to teach them (aka they just really don’t want me to get overtime??). The lunches are good, my co-teachers are friendly and polite, and travel is very convenient from my town. I’ve been able to visit cities every weekend so far. First downtown Daegu, then Gumi, and this weekend, Seoul, for Chuseok.

Anyways, I have so much more to say but I have no time to say it. My province, Gyeongbuk, gives us two weeks to settle in, prepare, and observe before we start teaching. Today, my time’s run out. I go to my first ever class to begin teaching in just 10 minutes. I’m shaking; I’m so nervous.

I’ll be back to update at lunch. If you’re curious about my journey, you can also find me on instagram! @robyn.faith (:

Leave a comment